h1

The Little Things

September 17, 2010

I woke up this morning, climbed out of bed, fixed my coffee and sat down at my Macbook.  I don’t really have a routine so I just started clicking.  I cranked up iTunes for background music.  I got up and opened the blinds and the sun just came streaming in.  I felt really great about the day.  Thankful for the little things that go relatively unnoticed or unmentioned.  The things we are too ashamed to say give us satisfaction.  The things that couldn’t possibly resonate with other people.

I’ve decided to share mine, regardless of  whether or not the world finds them worthy of being significant.  They hold some sort of importance for me.

  • Putting my cup down on beat with the song I’m listening to.
  • A good R&B throwback that makes you go “Oh shit!”
  • Waking up at 8am fully rested and wide awake
  • The way Phoebe Snow’s “Something Real” makes me feel
  • Finding someone who knows a song I thought I was only hip to
  • Perrine DeShield’s hand motions
  • Christmas music
  • Walking, iPod in ears, pretending I’m in the song’s music video
  • Unplanned conversations that turn into significant memories
  • Cuddling
  • When a person thought to be utterly evil is just highly misunderstood
  • “Just ‘cause…” emails & texts
  • Mariah Carey giving a good vocal performance post-‘Emancipation’
  • Head nods between people I pass by but have yet to be introduced to
  • LPs
  • When not knowing feels better than nothing at all.
  • Blogging on randomness and people actually finding it interesting

—-

For effect, peep the video for India.Arie’s “Little Things” after the jump.

Leave a Reply

